Mindfulness Music: Love Does

A song on the radio that always helps me be mindful. Brandon Heath has such a beautiful voice. And lyrics that give hope are always worth cherishing 🙂

In particular, it keeps me motivated when I am feeling drained and just want to call in sick to my volunteer shifts.  I recently had to say good-bye to a patient I was visiting as a volunteer in an elderly care facility. It was my last day as a volunteer and I wanted to make it special, but I was feeling rushed, trying to get from work and get to her in time for visiting hours, stopping at stores in between to collect the items I needed for her favorite treat. My good intentions were gone as I rushed. It was a task that needed to be done. An inconvenience. My OCD was pretty bad and I just wanted to stay home.

I had to stop and remind myself why I was doing this; I wanted to show someone a little love. I knew she was hungry for companionship. I knew that she all she wanted was to eat this special dessert with a friend. People in care homes spend all day in their little rooms, in their beds, with no one but people paid to care for them and maybe a roommate who can’t talk back to them for their daily companions.  I had to remember that the little things I manage to do are significant to someone, so it’s important that I tell my OCD to back off so I can do this small thing. This song helps me remember that it’s important to keep doing the small things. More than that,  I need stay in the moment and keep love in my intentions. As it says in 2 Corinthians 9:7 ” Each of you should give what you have decided in your heart to give, not reluctantly or under compulsion, for God loves a cheerful giver.”

 

Love Does by Brandon Heath

What do you think?

