Blog for Mental Health 2013: I Finally Did It!

Blog For Mental Health 2013

Yay! I’m taking the pledge to join this awesome blogging campaign, started by blogger Lulu! There are four five parts to the pledge, so here we go:

1) I pledge my commitment to the Blog For Mental Health 2013 Project.  I will blog about mental health topics not only for myself, but for others.  By displaying this badge, I show my pride, dedication, and acceptance for mental health.  I use this to promote mental health education in the struggle to erase stigma.

2) I’ve joined in, thanks to an open pledge by A Canvas of the Minds.
3) My Bio: For those of who have been with me from post 1, you’ll know that I was diagnosed a year ago with Obsessive-Compulsive Disorder. My symptoms first began when I was an undergraduate student, 4 years ago, but did not reach the point of impairing my functioning until last year. I have always been a “checker”, since I was 17, but in the past 2 years, my obsessions and compulsions have been steadily spreading & growing until I could check off nearly half of an OCD symptoms checklist.  I remember crying in the doctor’s office, fearing that I had gone insane and experiencing, for the first time in  my life, the wish that I was not alive; I just wanted my brain to stop. A good chunk of 2012 was consumed by my growing anxiety, compulsions that took hours of my day, and eventually my preferred activity,  sleep (the only time I wasn’t engaged in a battle with my OCD). OCD has almost taken driving, school, work,  my dreams, and relationships from me. The past year has been a year of therapy and making my mental health a priority. Also, a year of relying on loyal friends, loving family, and some really dedicated psychologists, psychiatrists, and social workers.   I’m not even close to where I would like to be with my OCD, but I’ve made so much progress that I feel like the ghost of a girl from last summer was from lifetimes ago. I feel very alive and very optimistic, and finally willing to share the truth.  🙂
 I’m taking this pledge because my search to figure out  what was happening to me  and my path towards getting proper care was filled with confusion, shame, and extreme misunderstanding. Mental health is still marred by stigma, myths, and harmful misconceptions. I’m excited to participate in a community of bloggers who can change that with their vulnerability and their stories.
4) Now let me see… I must pledge 5 others who are also blogging about mental health (and let them know!). Here are some blogs I have stumbled upon that I have enjoyed very much! Please check them out!

1) The War In My Brain: A Personal Struggle With OCD

2) OCDTalk

3) It’s Not Me: It’s My OCD

4) Exposing OCD: Obsessive Compulsive Disorder, Exposure Therapy, And the Hope of Getting Better

5) Leaving OCD Behind

And last but not least (eep I forgot step 5):  Enroll yourself in the  Blog For Mental Health 2013 Official Blogroll!! You can do so by leaving a comment on the blogroll page at A Canvas of the Minds ( they’ve requested you include a link to your post). OK! Off I go to do that right now.

🙂

8 thoughts on “Blog for Mental Health 2013: I Finally Did It!

  1. Well done on raising awareness of OCD! I’m glad you’re feeling better now!
    Thanks for pledging me! 🙂

  2. I think it’s so wonderful that you have made such progress in your treatment, though it clearly hasn’t been easy for you. We’re delighted to have you among the ranks of those “fighting the good fight” against ignorance and stigma!

    My very best to you!

  3. I just took the pledge myself and I’m now visiting my comrades blogging for mental health.

    I look forward to reading more of your posts. Perhaps we can encourage each other.

What do you think?

